5/17/23 • General

Corn Refiners Applaud Agriculture Committee for Affirmative Vote on Xochitl Torres Small Nomination

May 17, 2023

WASHINGTON – Today, Corn Refiners Association (CRA) President and CEO John Bode issued the following statement regarding the Senate Agriculture Committee’s vote to move Xochitl Torres Small forward in consideration as Deputy Secretary of Agriculture following the resignation of Jewel Bronaugh:

“CRA applauds the leadership of the Senate Agriculture Committee in moving the nomination of Under Secretary Torres Small forward in the confirmation process to become Deputy Secretary. She has already made a strong impact through her work as USDA Under Secretary for Rural Development, specifically on her efforts to support growth in the ag bioeconomy. Under Secretary Torres Small understands the value of agriculture to the overall wellbeing of our nation and in enhancing rural economic opportunity. We call on the full Senate for quick confirmation of Torres Small and we look forward to partnering with her to further strengthen U.S. agriculture and America’s food supply.”

The committee’s affirmative vote comes two months after dozens of leading food and agriculture organizations, including CRA, sent a letter to Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow and Ranking Member John Boozman requesting the committee’s support for Torres Small’s nomination.


The Corn Refiners Association (CRA) is the national trade association representing the corn refining industry of the United States. CRA and its predecessors have served this important segment of American agribusiness since 1913. Corn refiners manufacture sweeteners, starch, advanced bioproducts, corn oil, and feed products from corn components such as starch, oil, protein, and fiber.